12/08/2014 FINISHING!

I finished my first quilt ever! It measures 41 x 41 inch now – it is quite a good size for a baby-quilt. It is not perfect, but it is a go.od beginning I … and it was quite good to make me hungry for more!

Quilt binding from the backI did the binding with stripes of the fabrics I used for top & back. First I fixed it from the backside with my sewing machine, after folding it to the front I sewed it with hidden stiches on the quilt top. I like the result.

Just the corners were a little bit tricky – here you can see a detail: Quilt binding - corner detail

All in all I’m really pleased with my work’s result…  on the contrary to the photos I made…  or should I say my camera made? It seems to be impossible to catch the wonderful bright colours.

Voilà, here it is:

Last but not least I added my brand new label into the binding on the backside:

Knettycraft label

DEUTSCH –> Mein allererster Quilt ist fertig! Wider Erwarten hat mir das Binding (also die Umrandung) zum Schluss viel Spaß gemacht – ich habe es auch Streifen aller verwendeten Stoffe angefertigt, diese zuerst mit der Nähmaschine an der Rückseite befestigt und dann zur Vorderseite umgeschlagen, wo ich es mit Blindstichen fixiert habe… Leider bin ich (oder meine Kamera?) nicht in der Lage, die tollen strahlenden Farben adäquat einzufangen. Alles in allem bin ich mehr als zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis und habe Lust auf mehr bekommen! Der fertige Quilt ist ca. 104 cm2 groß… eine gute Größe für einen Babyquilt! Aber ich wollte ja auch erst einmal klein anfangen! Nicht fehlen darf natürlich das brandneue Label… gerade per Post eingetroffen, habe ich es direkt mit eingenäht!

One comment

Leave a comment.

