Disappearing Socks Phenomenon

On 6th of December St. Nicholas fills children's (well cleaned) shoes with sweets while they are sleeping. Yesterday I sewed this shoe for a girlfriend of my daughter.

I sewed this one for a girlfriend of my daughter.

There is a really dark mystery around here. Do you know the disappearing socks phenomenon? I don’t know where they are going (or why always one is left 🙂 )… is the washing machine maybe eating them? Or do we have a mystical socks robbing elf somewhere in our home? Last year when we moved in August I have thrown all lonely socks away… and today after removing  the laundry from the line I counted 25 lonely socks again. And there is another question I can’t find an answer to: Why are only my teenage daughter’s socks disappearing???

Does it make sense waiting for the other socks coming back? If not, what shall I do with all these?

 

In my English lessons at school I learned a Christmas song when I was a child:

Santa Claus is coming, it’s almost day. Sugar, cake and candy for christmas day. Hang up your stocking for Christmas day. I want the size forty stocking for Christmas day.

So I have a lot of size forty Christmas stockings now! (… German size 40 = 7/England, 9/USA)

Lonely Socks

DEUTSCH –>

Kennt irgendjemand auch das Phänomen der verschwundenen Socken??? Ich kann mir nicht erklären, wo die alle hinverschwinden (oder warum immer einer dableibt)? Ob die Waschmaschine sie aufisst? Oder vielleicht haben wir einen geheimnisvollen sockenstehenlen Hausgeist? Als wir letztes Jahr im August umgezogen sind, habe ich alle einzelnen Socken gnadenlos weggeworfen und einen Neuanfang gewagt… es dauerte nicht lange, bis ich wieder einen Sammelbeutel für einzelne Socken brauchte. Nachdem ich heute die Wäsche von der Leine genommen hatte und noch einige Paare vereinen konnte, waren es immer noch 25 einzelne Socken! Und da ist noch etwas, das ich mir nicht erklären kann: Warum verschwinden ausschließlich die Socken meiner Tochter?

Ob es wohl Sinn macht auf die Rückkehr der verschwundenen Socken zu warten… wenn nicht, was mache ich mit all diesen einzelnen Socken?

Wir haben früher im Englischunterricht ein Lied gelernt, das mir einfällt:

Santa Claus is coming, it’s almost day. Sugar, cake and candy for christmas day. Hang up your stocking for Christmas day. I want the size forty stocking for Christmas day.

Naja, Größe-40-Socken habe ich dann jetzt genug :-).

3 comments

Leave a comment.

