GROW YOUR BLOG 2015 PARTY & A GIVEAWAY

grow your blog 2015Hello everyone and welcome to my blog. This is a special post to introduce my blog and myself at the start  of “Grow your Blog Party 2015”.

In Berlin - where I was born

Thats me – Annett, in the middle of my 40’s; mother of two (a girl, 16 and a boy, 27) – and imagine, one year ago I knew nothing about blogging and just a little more about patchwork & quilting!

I started this blog because of another hobby of mine: exchanging postcards with people from all over the world with postcrossing.com. In my profile there I asked postcrossing members to send me with their postcard a fabricpiece to create a “postcrossing-quilt”.  I love needlecrafting in general – but until then I had never tried quilting (but I ever wanted to 🙂 ). Then I received the first fabrics and felt that I needed something to show the participators what I was doing with their fabrics. I thaught about Flickr – but only showing photos was not what I wanted. Can you imagine that I had no idea about blogging??? So I took some evening classes in February 2014 and started my blog in March. Just a few days ago I finished my Postcrossing Quilt – my last post was about that quilt. Today was a post about it on Postcrossing-blog too and I was overwhelmed by all the lovely comments.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnly a few days before I finished this project I got some new fabric I couldn’t put in there: so I decided to start a new one: Postcrossing Quilt II – and this time not open only for postcrossing members. It is open to everyone who’ll send fabric (every fabric coming by mail!). So if you want taking part please contact me. I plan collecting fabrics until late summer – before I start sewing. I think about an appliqué-quilt or some scrappy one…

workingplace

The place where I sew…

During the last year I learned so much about sewing & quilting… one year ago I didn’t know how many cm an inch was, what a fat quarter was, free motion quilting, quilting in the ditch, disappearing ninepatch… charm pack, layer cake, jelly roll … all that was new for me. Because of postcrossing’s common language is English I started my blog in English … although I think I didn’t upgrade my grammar I learned a lot of new vocabulary. Anyhow… it is a foreign language for me and sometimes I feel very disabled to express what I want to say like I would do in German.

Beside sewing I like knitting and felting very much. And once a year I make my own soap. In 2015 I hope to improve my stiching skills and do more appliqué… I started a Dear Jane Quilt, suppose it provides a lot of applequé for me (and lots of curves… another challenge!). Here are some impressions what kind of topics you will find on my blog:

I hope to discover a lot of new interesting blogs this year and find others with similar interests … and perhaps inspiring people with completely different interests? I thought about a giveaway … and here is what has occured to me:

Out of my stash I combined a charmpack – 42 charms (5×5″) from 21 different fabrics (two of each) … it is multicoloured and I really interested in what you (perhaps) would make out of it:

knettycraft stash charmpack

These are all fabrics I used for one or the other of my projects … If you would like to win, please leave a comment and tell what you can imagine to make out of these fabrics.

This giveaway is open to everyone from everywhere in the world – doesn’t matter if you have a blog or not – until the end of Feb 15 2015 (CET). The winner will be drawn using a random number generator. Numbers will be allocated in the order that comments are received. If you are a no-reply blogger, please make sure that I can contact you and leave your email address in the comment. Good luck!

Thank you for visiting my blog and taking time to stay a while … would be nice if you come back again. 🙂

140 comments

  1. Thank you for the inspiration. I recently joined postcrossing and thought your quilt was amazing. I am going to attempt a similar collecting project of my own after seeing yours. I will also be sure to send some fabric your way very soon!

  2. Hello from Ohio (USA)!!! I would love these Charms!! Thinking I would add some solids & make a great Throw for our Family Room! thanks for the chance to win them!

  3. The postcrossing quilt is such a good idea! I’ve been collecting scraps to make a quilt and if I win I would use these squares in that quilt. Thank you for the chance!

  4. Greetings from Minnesota, USA. I am still growing my stash, I like the rainbow of colors.

  5. I’ve been collecting 2.5 inch squares to make a postage stamp quilt so I’d use my winnings for that. Thanks!

  6. Love the Postcrossing quilt- such a great idea! We need more placemats (I have 2 littles) and these charms would be just perfect

  7. Hello Annette! I am returning your GYB visit to my blog! Thank you! Love your postcrossing quilt!! Your fabrics are lovely…. I would use them in a scrappy quilt! Nice to have met you! 🙂 xx

  8. Annett, It’s so wonderful to meet you and share in your enthusiasm for sewing, postcarding.
    I’d love to make some zipper pouches/bags out of all those fabrics. Then I could exchange all the bags I make w/other creative folks or give as gifts. Thank you so much for sharing all your talent. I’m of German heritage myself, raised in America . Not to worry you have shared all of talent and I’m so inspired.

  9. Hello Annett, I have popped over to visit you and say thank you for coming to see me at Colours in the Breizh. Your post is interesting and also I have learned some new terms from you. Hope to see you again soon.

  10. Hi, returning your GYB visit! Nice blog! Lots of interesting things keeping you bust!
    The fabrics would be great for quilts that go to our Aussie War Heros!
    Always looking for fabric for the different requests that they put in!

  11. Hi Annett, it was so nice to hear from you during this wondrous blog party Vicki has been so gratious to host for the third year! I just popped over to say hi and to say I too will definitely visit again as soon as I get through blog hopping… so many lovely people and blogs!
    Hugs for now from a fellow fabriholic,
    Beth P
    The Whimsical Dowager

  12. Hello from NYC! Wow, what a great giveaway! If I were to win I would create a knitting needle case. That project has been on my to-do list for far too long!

  13. What a lovely memento of your postcard swap friends. If I won your giveaway, I’d use the charm squares as the centres of the stars in a star quilt. I’m now following you by email.

  14. Hi Annett–nice to meet you through the GYB party! I love the picture of you at the top of the post, sitting on the rustic fence with all the lush greenery behind you. Is that near your home? I see that you live in Germany, from your “about” page…a place I’d love to visit someday. I enjoyed reading about how you started your blog! Your giveaway fabric stash is fun—I think I’d make fun patch-y combos and turn them into a few little zippered pouches. Glad I stopped by!

    1. Welcome to my Blog Maggie! The picture was taken last year, when I visited my son who moved back to Berlin (where I was born) – it was taken in a park in a part of town called “Kreuzberg”. Good luck for the giveaway! I’ll have a return visit on your blog!

  15. How interesting, Annett. You’ve done wonders in your first year of needlecrafting. You’re a natural. And thanks for the info on postcrossing. I will have to look into that. I’d make a disappearing nine-patch with those lovely squares. Thanks for the chance. I’m a new follower on Bloglovin’

Leave a comment.

