GYB-Party-Giveaway… Winner

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe have a winner…

… out of 68 comments telling what could be made out of my stash charmpack the random number generator has drawn a number: 34…

So now we know that these charms will be a babyquilt… made for a baby grandson.

GYB Giveaway WinnerBut before that I will send my charmpack to Ontario, Canada….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACongratulations Mary Anne from magpiesmumblings.blogspot.com

YOU ARE THE WINNER!!!

I have to honestly say that I am glad that not I had to decide who is the winner… so many brilliant ideas!!! Thank you all – it was such fun to read all your comments (I must admit that I was tempted to strip my whole stash in charmpacks – so that everybody could win 😉 ). I hope MaryAnn will show us what she has finally made out of it.

Thank you again Vicky for hosting the “Grow Your Blog” Party – I discovered so many lovely and inspiring blogs during the past weeks. And there are many blogs waiting for the rest of the year.

post coach fabric from Barbara, US

post coach fabric from Barbara, US

But what did I do the last weeks? First of all I got an enormous feedback for my Postcrossing Quilt – via comments and via messages at the postcrossing platform. I received the first fabrics for my POSTCROSSING QUILT II. It looks as if this time I manage to connect fabrics from all continents in one quilt! But this is a topic for a special post!

 

I made some blocks for my Dear Jane…

 

Carla from grannymaudsgirl told in a blogpost last week about her “pincushion problem” – I absolutely share that. I love sewing small cute little things (like pincushions) – often they are fast made, nice to look at and mostly welcome gifts… although I often can’t stop making it, there are not enough opportunities to give it away – and so I do a little bit of  heard it in the closet. However… during my blog-wanderings I discovered something new… Teresa from fabrictherapy shared a wonderful tutorial on her blog: A Collapsible Thread Catcher to collect all these tiny threads and small fabric snippets…. It was love at the first sight, and I knew I had to sew this… and so I did:

I absolutely love that!!! And at the moment it seems to be an an adequate replacement for more and more pincushions. There is also a very detailed youtube tutorial by AngiesBitsAndPieces.

DEUTSCH: Es gibt einen Gewinner des “GrowYourBlog” Giveaways… das von mir zugeschnittene Charmpack geht nach Ontario, Kanada zu Mary Ann, die eine Babydecke für ihren Enkelsohn daraus nähen möchte. Während ich über die GYB-Party viele neue Blogs erkundet habe, habe ich einige Blöcke für meinen Dear Jane Quilt genäht. Außerdem habe ich die ersten Stoffe für meinen Postcrossing Quilt II erhalten… ich hoffe, dass es mir diesmal wirklich gelingt, alle Kontinente in einem Quilt zu vereinen. Während meinen Streifzügen im www habe ich ein tolles Tutorial für einen zusammenfaltbaren Fadensammler entdeckt… es war Liebe auf den ersten Blick und ich musste das Ding einfach sofort nachnähen 🙂 Hier geht es zum Fototutorial und hier zur youtube-Anleitung.

8 comments

  1. Hi Annett, your Dear Jane blocks are gorgeous. I have the Loyal Quilt Sampler book and will start making some blocks soon but I won’t hurry to finish that one. Some projects should be savoured 🙂

    1. At the moment I sew all “easy” blocks but lurk around all curved blocks (and that are so many!!!)… it is a way to force myself to do techniques I’m always avoiding (like curves 🙂 )… and I just started, I’m not in a hurry.

  2. Oh wow! Yay!!! Thank you so much and Logan (my grandson) thanks you too. It will be such fun to make him a special quilt and be able to tell him someday where the fabrics came from. I’ve already send you my info and the mailman stalking begins!! Thank you!!

  3. That is a very, very cute thread catcher and I may just have to go and make one straight away! Congratulations on making progress with Dear Jane – it’s fun to see the little squares slowly being filled on your diagram.

    1. Oh yes… that was only my first – but definitely not my last. My Dear Jane progress is a bit narrow 🙂 but I’m not in a hurry (and it is still a kind of avoiding certain blocks 🙂

Leave a comment.

