A Weekend Surprise from a Friend… and Dear Jane Sunday

Actually I wanted to write a post about alle the fabrics I received for the second Postcrossing Quilt… I didn’t managed it this weekend to take and edit photos of all the lovely post I got during the last weeks. But I don’t want to deprive you of what a surprise I got from a friend this weekend… I got a lovely parcel which really touched my heart sent to me by Kate from Australia – in addition to the lovely fabrics for my quilt she made a cute little case and on a beautiful selfmade hexiecard she especially for me wrote a sentence  in German…

THANK YOU SO MUCH KATE! Thank you for beeing altruistic like that and for beeing a friend across the miles. Kate is working on a special quilt at the moment … Worldwide Friends Quilt out of indigo fabrics from all over the world – it will be a hexagon quilt (EPP) and so I decided to use Kate’s cute case for my hexies 🙂

case for hexies

… and I promise to show in the course of the week the other beautiful fabrics I received so far.

… even though I had actually other plans I decided this Sunday to be a “Dear-Jane-Sunday” and made at least 4 blocks today (a 5th is just in work)… one piece after another 🙂 … and I struggled with my improvised design wall again – it don’t work as I want!

DEUTSCH

Eigentlich wollte ich dieses Wochende über die tollen Stoffe posten, die ich in den letzten Wochen für den nächsten Postcrossing Quilt aus aller Welt bekommen habe… das habe ich leider nicht geschafft, aber ein Brief, der mich sehr berührt hat, wollte ich heute nicht vorenthalten… Kate aus Australien, hat mir nicht nur wunderschöne Stoffe geschickt, sie hat extra eine Karte gebastelt (passend zu ihrem World Wide Friends Quilt aus Hexies aus aller Welt) und sogar etwas auf Deutsch geschrieben (… immerhin beklage ich mich auch häufig genug über mein schlechtes Englisch, das mir dazu auch noch viel Mühe bereitet 😉 ). Für die Tasche habe ich bereits eine Verwendung gefunden… wofür sonst, als für meine Hexies! Es ist schon sehr berührend, wenn so viele km oder Meilen entfernt jemand sich ganz uneigennützig Gedanken macht, so viel Freude in einen Brief zu packen. … und versprochen…  im Laufe der Woche folgt ein Beitrag über die ganzen tollen Stoffe, die auch noch angekommen sind.

Den heutigen Sonntag habe ich kurzer Hand zum Dear-Jane-Sonntag erklärt, um mal wieder etwas weiterzukommen… immerhin 4 Blöcke sind es geworden… ein fünfter ist gerade noch in Arbeit.

 

9 comments

    1. Yes… Kate is a special person and I the World Wide Friends quilt is a wonderful idea … and enthusiastic too. 🙂 I hope you get my fabric for your project this week.

  1. I sent you fabric this week. It took me awhile to get the post office, but it’s now on the way. I look forward to seeing all the beautiful fabrics you receive from across the world.

    1. When I’m looking at all the fabric and me without a special pattern in my mind yet…. I look forward to have joined all of it in a quilt too 😉

      1. If you can’t think of a particular pattern, why not do all of them! Make a sampler quilt – not as complicated as Dear Jane of course, but with lots of different blocks which finish at the same size. It will be more interesting than doing the same thing again and again, and would work well with the wide variety of fabrics you’re going to receive.

      2. …that’s a good idea, thank you Kate. I’m not sure yet… you know I thought about sth applique like a tree of life. I’m not in a hurry … every arriving fabric piece is inspiration (*and every piece for another pattern 😉 )

      3. Having done a huge appliqué Tree of Life quilt, I can tell you it’s quite difficult and needs lots of planning. But it would be a lovely thing to look at. I’m looking forward to to seeing what you finally decide on!

Leave a comment.

