Postcrossing Quilt II … Fabrics I received so far

As I promised I want to show you the wonderful fabrics I received so far. Every day I found an envelope in my mailbox is exciting and a little bit like birthday… ohhh – perhaps not like that –> I would grow old very fast 🙂

So far I got fabrics from US, The Netherlands, France, Finland, Australia, Germany and Indonesia. And often I found a surprice when I open up an evelope… often more than one fabric piece, a nice postcard, interesting information and so on. Here I will show you some special things too I got with the fabrics:

Sari from Finland – who caused the second quilt 😉 because I received her fabric when I only had to sew a bit of binding on the first quilt, so I decided to start another one – sent a lovely postcard with her fabric… It is a picture from the Old Ladies series by Finish artist Inge Löök. I love these pictures. There are so many nice postcards I received with the fabrics… look here:

Sometimes there are so lovely stamps on the envelopes… look here, these nice crafting motifs from France:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd often it is the fabric which touches mOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAy heart – look here, Barbara from US sent a piece of her bridal’s dress fabric:

Solène, a young student of Textile Design from France sent 10 fabricpieces – pinned an description on every single piece about its origin:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd look here, what Kati sent from Finland: a really huge piece of self dyed wonderful blue fabric.

And I yesterday already showed the cucase for hexieste little bag Kate from Australia added to put the fabric in:

Every envelope or parcel is a gift showing worldwide friendship… and I am really thankful for every single fabricpiece which was sent to me for the quilt. This time I hope to connect fabrics from all continents in one quilt… Africa and South America are missing now but as far as I know on their way.

Okay… then let’s have a look at the fabrics… I just have the idea to let wordpress make an improvised patchwork out of them… let’s see how it works… and: it should be a different combination every time you load the page 🙂

Here are some links to other projects I know about:

“Worldwide Friends Quilt” – Kate @ talltalesfromchiconia… an international EPP hexiequilt out of indigo fabrics including a Japanese rabbit legend and haikus…

Another Postcrossing Quilt Nadja @ Patch and Stitch is working on… first fabrics arrived…

Gillian @ africanaussie started collect fabrics for a Blog Hug Quilt… I sent her fabric but in didn’t arrived yet.

So thank you for stopping and I hope you enjoy a look on the fabrics like I do.

P.S. … Gillian asked what I do with all the postcards… on the wall behind my sewing table I have a special wallhanging – there (beside other things like photos, flyer for our local fabric market, concert tickets – for instance tickets from a wonderful concert of Nils Landgren I visited in December) I put some postcards in and replace them from time to time 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

–> DEUTSCH

Wie versprochen, zeige ich heute die Stoffe, die ich bisher für den neuen Postcrossing Quilt erhalten habe (im Prinzip in den letzten 4 Wochen… wenn es so weitergeht wird es ein großer Quilt!) 🙂 Die Stoffe kommen jetzt auch nicht nur von PostcrosserInnen, sondern auch über den Blog… aber trotzdem ja mit der Post. Wenn wordpress tut, was es soll, erscheint die Stoffgalerie – irgendwie ja auch ein Patchwork – bei jedem Laden der Seite in einer anderen Kombination.

Mit den Stoffen kommen natürlich auch immer wieder schöne, teils selbstgemachte Karten (z.B. von Kate aus Australien die Hexiekarte oder von Nadia aus Frankreich eine selbstgemachte Stoffkarte)… auch manche Stoffe erzählen Geschichten, wie z.B. der holländische Schürzenstoff (auch mit einer passenden Postkarte) oder der Stoff von Barbara, USA, die den rosafarbenen Seidenstoff geschickt hat, aus dem ihr Brautkleid genäht wurde… Jeder Brief mit Stoff, der ankommt ist besonders und für jeden nehme ich mir Ruhe und Zeit – meist koche ich mir eine schöne Tasse Kaffee oder Tee und setze mich ganz in Ruhe hin um den neuen Stoff anzuschauen.

Diesmal sieht es auch so aus, als könnte es mir gelingen, alle Kontinente in einem Quilt zu vereinen – Afrika und Südamerika fehlen noch, sind aber angekündigt… mal sehen…

Gillian aus Australien wollte wissen, was ich mit den ganzen Postkarten mache… also viele lasse ich erstmal in den entsprechenden Umschlägen mit den Stoffen, damit ich das alles noch auseinanderhalten kann und weiß, welche Karte zu welchem Stoff gehört. Einzelne Karten stecke ich – spätestens dann, wenn ich angefangen habe zu nähen – in einen transparenten Wandbehang, der an der Wand hinter meinem Nähmaschinentisch hängt. Dort bewahre ich auch Karten von schönen Konzerten auf (… wie man auf dem Foto noch erkennen kann z.B. die Karten vom Nils Landgren Konzert in der Kölner Kulturkirche vom Dezember…) Von Zeit zu Zeit tausche ich die Karten dann aus.

Linked up with / verlinkt mit showandtelltuesday

12 comments

  1. Annett, would you like to have some fabric made in Africa but sent from the USA? What size pieces can you use? Some of them are pretty large scale prints.

    I hadn’t heard of postcrossing either but what a fun idea! I have just the postcard to send along with fabric too. 🙂

  2. If you still want more fabric for the second quilt, e-mail me your address, and I will send something from Tennessee, USA. I love this idea!

    1. Thank you… of course I’m still interested in fabrics for my “Postcrossing meets blog”-Quilt. I’ve planned collecting fabrics until summer – then decide what kind of quilt I’ll make out of it… sending you a mail with my address.

  3. What lovely loot you have and what an interesting quilt is going to grow out of it! Surprise parcels in the post are just the best thing, aren’t they? Thank you for including a link to my blog – I must hurry up and finish the next piece of Worldwide friends so I can show it!

    1. Yes the arriving of an envelope with fabric is always exciting… I take it out of the mailbox and can feel that fabric is in there… but I never open it up right there… first I make a cup of coffee or tea and then sit down to enjoy open the parcel, looking at the sent fabrics and reading what the sender tells me about… I think you know!!!

Leave a comment.

