Febuary is already over… a pictural review

Beside receiving a lot of fabrics for my “Postcrossing meets Blog”-quilt I showed in a special post I did some other things too…

I tried to improve my embroidery-“vocabulary” a little bit:

I love Sue Spargo’s style and was inspired by her Craftsyclass.  And Mary Anne from magpie’s mumblings who meanwhile received my GYB-Party-giveaway shared with me some interesting embroidery links: Sharon B.’s stitch dictionary and Mary Corbet’s needleandthread with over 75 video tutorials… all in all I found my weekend playground 🙂

I finished a small case for my handsewing material… out of left over batic charms

I started my daughter’s quilt and finished all 12 blocks… now I have to join them and I’m not sure if I could do it as usual (top+batting+backside) or in the quilt-as-you go-way… I’m still thinking about. Here is a first layout on my floor.

first layout

first layout

Deutsch:

Schon ist der Februar vorbei… neben den vielen tollen Stoffen, die ich für den neuen Postcrossing-trifft-Blog-Quilt bekommen und im letzten Beitrag gezeigt habe, sind noch ein paar andere Dinge entstanden… Ich habe mit dem Quilt für meine Tochter begonnen und alle 12 Blöcke zusammengenäht – auf dem Foto ein erstes Layout… momentan hadere ich noch, ob ich das Top zusammennähe und anschließend zusammen mit Futter und Rückseite quilte (1,50 x 2,20m) – oder ob ich es mal mit der “Quilt as you go” Methode probiere… also erst die einzelnen Blöcke mit Futter und Rückseitenstoff versehe, quilte und dann erst zusammensetze.

Außerdem habe ich eine kleine Batiktasche genäht und angefangen, mich durch Stickstichvokabular durchzuarbeiten und Stiche zu üben… naja, ich mag Sue Spargos Stil total gerne 🙂  – dank Mary Anne, die mein GYB-giveaway gewonnen und mir interessante Links geschickt hat war das eine reine Freude… Hier die Links zu Sharon B.s Stich-Wörterbuch –> stitch dictionary und Mary Corbets needleandthread mit über 75 Anleitungsvideos.

8 comments

  1. You mentioned the magic names I love best, so I’m definitely subscribing! I have another blog just for stitching.

  2. I love your embroidered hexagons and the little bag too! Glad you enjoyed the links – I refer to them all the time. I’m spending time poking about on the internet looking for pattern ideas for my charm squares (thank you!!).

  3. My goodness, how busy you’ve been, and with what pretty results! Those little felt embroideries are lovely. What are you using them for? And I may have to steal your little case design at some point – I have some gifts to make and this would be a perfect idea. I’ve never done a quilt as you go layout, but if you do go that route I’ll be interested to hear whether you think it’s easy, if it works well, etc.

    1. … what the Little felt embroideries are for can’t be told yet 🙂 … A time ago I saw a case somewhere in WWW obviously made with folded fabric technique… I couldn’t find a tutorial and so I tried a technique I used for small coasters last year and made a paper model first to figure out how I could join the squares.

    1. … oh yes, you are right – I cut charm squares in 4 parts = mini charms 🙂
      And: THANK YOU WANDA – TODAY I GOT YOUR BEAUTIFUL FABRIC 🙂

Leave a comment.

