FIRST BLOGIVERSARY & A GIVEAWAY

Exactly one year ago I started blogging with a post about a fabric for my postcrossing quilt, sent by a small 9year old girl, Anna from Moscow. My intention with this blog was to document what I was making with all the fabrics other postcrossers sent me for making this postcrossing quilt… meanwhile it is finished and I am collecting fabrics for a second one… “Postcrossing meets Blog”…   And meanwhile it is not only my postcrossing quilt I blog about but other selfmade things too. It was one year full of worldwide journeys to creativity, I discovered so many interesting blogs, was supported from you – from all over the world, also tender plants of worldwide friendship began to grow… Thank you so much for supporting me with your likes, comments and also with inspiration or fabrics for my postcrossing quilt.

How to celebrate such an event?

First of all I’ve baked a BIRTHDAY CAKEChristine over at quiltingstories posted so lovely photos and the recipe of a cake she made last week … I made this delicious cake for my blogiversary 🙂

A real birthday needs an appropriate gift… so I made myself a BIRTHDAY PRESENT! In my last post I showed the pictures of small embroidered felt hexies…  I have been asked several times what they was supposed to be… Voilà – here we go: There are  blogs I follow and read regularly – a few month ago I read first at Carla‘s blog and then at Kate’s about the Hexie travel kit – made with a tutorial by Haley at thezenofmaking blog. I saw it – and loved it – and had to make one! I used a neutral grey solid for the outside. For the lining I chose beautiful  Notting Hill fabrics from ring a roses by Gütermann. And here it is:

I love that all material needed for sewing hexis fits into it…

all that stuff finds a place in the travel kit

all that stuff finds a place in the travel kit

I was able to put in: 8 fat eights of fabric, a paper case with 150 1″ paper hexies, a small case with needles, yarn, measure tape, a pair of scissors, my collapsible thread collector… one of the big inner pockets was still empty, there you can put the hexis in you’ve already sewn together. The smaller pocket on the front is big enough for two Altoid containers if you prefer that.

But there is still something missing… yes, of course… a gift for my readers… A GIVEAWAY. I know that some of you love sewing and fabric, some are keen about knitting/crocheting and wool … so I prepared two giveaways:

1. I give away some of the wonderful fabrics I used for the lining of my hexie travel kit: 8 different fat eights of Notting Hill fabrics from ring a roses by Gütermann together with 150 one inch paper hexies out of old strip cartoons (punched by myself :-))

2. … if you are a wool lover … you have the chance to win 100g beautiful wool: Magico II from LANA GROSSA (75% virgin wool, 25% polyamide) in a beautiful color combination together with two memade stitchmarkers. It will be enough wool for a pair of gloves or socks or to knit a tiny shawl (for instance my most beloved shawl pattern – “Pimpelliese” by Spinning Martha)

To win one of those giveaways please leve a comment below. If you are a follower of my blog please tell me in which way you follow and in what kind of posts you are interested most. Tell me if you would like to win the fabric or the wool giveaway. This giveaway is open internationally for the next 10 days until the end of  the 19th of March (CET).

You have not to be a follower to enter this giveaway, it is open for everyone – I am thankful for nearly 10.000 visits from all over the world in my first year 🙂 THANK YOU!

DEUTSCH –>

Heute vor genau einem Jahr habe ich mit diesem Blog begonnen, eigentlich um zu dokumentieren, was ich mit den Stoffen mache, die mir von anderen Postcrossern geschickt wurden, weil ich daraus einen Quilt nähen wollte… der ist inzwischen fertig, ein zweiter (diesemal ein “Postcrossing trifft Blog”-Quilt) in Arbeit… und der Blog ist längst auch über andere DIY-Themen. Grund zu feiern… dafür gab es einen leckerren Orangen-Kuchen (nach einem  Rezept auf Christines quiltingstories-blog). Dann habe ich mir selbst etwas geschenkt… am Wochenende ist mein “Hexie-Reiseset” fertig geworden: eine Tasche extra für das Material für die englische Papiernähmethode für unterwegs… da passt alles rein, was gebraucht wird (die Anleitung kostet nichts, ist aber auf Englisch – es gibt sie hier: tutorial von Haley, thezenofmaking blog).

Und dann: ein Giveaway für alle meine (immerhin fast 10.000) Leser :-)… okay, zwei Giveaways – manche meiner Leser mögen lieber Stoff & nähen, andere häkeln/stricken & Wolle – zu gewinnen gibt es:

1. Entweder ein Stoffpaket – 8 “fette Achtel” (1/8 = 11 x 18 inch –> ca. 28 x 45 cm), also insgesamt 1 Yard von dem tollen Stoff den ich für das Futter meines Hexie Reisesets verwendet habe (Notting Hill von ring a roses von Gütermann). Den Stoff gibt es zusammen mit 150 Papier-Hexie-Schablonen (selbst ausgestanzt :-))

2. Wenn Du lieber strickst und häkelst, kannst Du Dich auch für ein tolles 100g-Wollknäuel entscheiden: Magico II from LANA GROSSA (75% virgin wool, 25% polyamide) in tollen Farben. Die Wolle gibt es zusammen mit 2 selbstgemachten Maschenmarkierern. Tolles Garn für ein Paar Fingerhandschuhe (na gut, der Winter ist vorbei), ein Paar Socken oder z. B. mein Lieblingstuch, die Pimpelliese (kostenfreie Anleitung hier).

Wenn Du eines der Giveaways gewinnen möchtest, hinterlasse in den nächsten 10 Tagen einen Kommentar zu diesem Post und sage mir, ob und wie Du meinem Blog folgst (z.B. Mail, wordpress, bloglovin) und welche Beiträge Dich am meisten interessieren.

Nach Ablauf des 19. März 2015 (MEZ) werde ich einen Gewinner ziehen. Du musst meinem Blog nicht folgen, das Giveaway ist offen für alle… ich bin dankbar für fast 10000 Besuche im ersten Jahr – VIELEN DANK 🙂

 

linked with: showandtelltuesday, linkytuesday, Let’s bee social

 

86 comments

  1. I’d love to win the fabric! Thank you for the opportunity! Beautiful hexi travel kit!!

  2. I would love to win the fabric, especially the paper hexies. I’ve been wanting to try my hand at hexies but do not have the templates. Congratulations on the one year mark!

  3. I’m not a follower but since I live in Germany I’m adding you to my Feedly! Thanks for the giveaway! I would love to win the fabric.

  4. i just found your blog and I really like it! and this is an amazing giveaway!
    I’d love the fabric pack. and i just started sewing hexies so that would be perfect!
    thank you,

  5. Awesome giveaway thanks!!!! Hopiing to win the fabric since I don’t know how to knit or crochet. Also congrats on your one year anniversary!!!!!!

  6. Would love to win the fabric package…thanks for the giveaway! Congrats on your blog anniversary!

  7. Happy anniversary I would be happy with either but if I have to choose I will choose the wool package thanks for the chance to win.
    I follow on Bloglovin

  8. I would love to be considered for the fabric giveaway (they would make a nice birthday gift for me – March 24th). The wool is beautiful, but unfortunately I am allergic to wool. The earrings are really pretty too.

  9. Happy anniversary! I am so glad you made yourself a lovely present – such beautiful and fancy felt hexies! I get a lot of use out of my case – it goes on aeroplanes, into doctor’s waiting rooms … you name it!
    (As for the giveaway, put me in the draw for fabric, please!)

  10. I follow your blog with Bloglovn – new follower and enjoyed reading. Love your hexies! I am a fabric lover. thank you.

Leave a comment.

