miscellaneous

My cat "Pinter" ... like the British dramatist :-)

My cat “Pinter” … like the British dramatist 🙂

Easter is over now and my daughter left to visit her Grandma in Berlin.

So she took a tablerunner with her to give it to my mother – it was a Easter surprise but now I can show it here:

I found the pattern for the lovely primrose paper piecing pattern at the site of Regina Grewe, a German textile artist and pattern designer – on her site you find a lot lovely patterns (some free, some to buy… as pdf or EQ7-projects). Her website is in German and English.

For the binding I chose the flanged binding (I really love it) – for the turorial visit Lorna’s sewfreshquilts-blog.

I quilted it free motion … and I was a bit out of excercise, but at the end it works.

Meanwhile I received some new fabrics for my Postcrossing Quilt II – I’ll show it in a later post, but today I was surprised by receiving some lovely fabrics from Susan … some lovely Laurel Burch fabrics included:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASusan also participates in the F2F-block-swap. Meanwhile I’ve chosen my colour scheme for the block swap – I decided that I would love to receive blocks in turquoise/orange/green with a white background… there are many shades and tones the colours could have… but one possible combination I found amongst my Easter eggs 🙂

F2F colour schemeI used the last days to start a new project (my poor daughter… she have to wait for her quilt now still a bit longer)… I cannot say so much about this project… it is for a celebration we have at the end of the month in our familiy… ok, of course it is going to be a quilt – I made some “dancing-square-blocks” so far (no pattern, just freestyle) … Until now I did the half I need for the quilt and what I show here is not the final order… What do you say, Is it going to be a nice quilt?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Deutsch –>

Hier heute nur eine kleine Zusammenstellung, was ich in den letzten Tagen so gemacht habe… ohne viele Worte 🙂

10 comments

  1. So much to enjoy in one post 🙂 I love your runner with the special binding and the quilting is gorgeous too. The fishes fabric is soooo bright and cheerful and it makes me smile. Your dancing squares look fabulous together. You’ve been so busy…..and I almost forgot the eggs. I simply have to colour some eggs next year 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration. Avis x

  2. Your mother is going to love that table runner! I’m glad you showed the back too; your quilting is lovely. Thanks for the pic of the Easter eggs. I can much more easily see how those colors will work in blocks now. :- ) Looking forward to seeing how your dancing squares become a quilt. The squares are fun by themselves!

  3. It’s going to be a GREAT quilt! I love the blocks and the colors. I look forward to seeing what the finish is. I am so glad you showed the back of the table runner, because it is so pretty looking and easier to see on the back. I like the shakes on your eggs. I might be able to find something like that in my stash somewhere. The orange will be the tricky one. =) You might only get green and turquoise.

    1. P. S. Funny, but I was sewing with that same Laurel Burch today! It’s the small focus on a quilt I’m starting.

  4. That is a pretty binding, and your mother is sure to love her table runner! Gorgeous piece of Laurel Burch too, lucky you! I have copied the egg image into your colour reference file for F2F in case anyone would like to use it for inspiration!

  5. Pinter looks a lot like our Cosmo, who now lives with our son and daughter-in-law. My DH developed an allergy so we had to find Cosmo a new home. Fortunately we get to see him when we visit.

Leave a comment.

