A Friday Finish!

Today I finished a cushion cover I made as a gift for a friend’s 40th birthday we will going to celebrate tomorrow. For the orange peel shapes I used the template I made for my last quilt which had an orange peel quilt pattern… I cut it just a bit taller for the cushion cover. The technique I used for it I tried first with tiny pieces for my Dear Jane quilt – and in such a small size it didn’t work well. But here – the cushion cover is appr. 20″x20″ – it worked very well. A detailed description for that technique is shown in a MSQC-tutorial you can find here.

But here you can see progress & finish of my cushion cover.

sewing orange peel shaped thin interfacing  with the sticky part inside onto my fabrics... and cut out after sewing together

sewing orange peel shaped thin interfacing with the sticky part inside onto my fabrics… and cut out after sewing together

cut a small slit into the interfacing and then turn the inside out

cut a small slit into the interfacing and then turn the inside out

after turning inside out it is looking like this from the front

after turning inside out it is looking like this from the front

after turning the inside out you can see the sticky side of the interfacing on the surface now

after turning the inside out you can see the sticky side of the interfacing on the surface now

placed the orange peel shapes on the front... iron carefully to fix it before applique with a small blanket stich

placed the orange peel shapes on the front… iron carefully to fix it before applique with a small blanket stich

I had my orange peel machine appliqued with a small blanket stitch.

I had my orange peel machine appliqued with a small blanket stitch.

the basted front ready for quilting

the basted front ready for quilting

quilted the front with my walking foot

quilted the front with my walking foot

I used my serger to sew front and back together.

I used my serger to sew front and back together.

the back side

the back side

Finished!

Finished!

DEUTSCH –>

Heute habe ich ein Kissen fertiggestellt, das ich für eine Freundin gemacht habe… morgen feiern wir ihren 40. Geburtstag. Für die Orangenschalen-Teile habe ich die Kartonschablone verwendet, die ich für das Quilten meines letzten Quilts zugeschnitten hatte. Ich habe sie lediglich etwas verschlankt. Die Applikationstechnik, die ich benutzt habe, habe ich zuerst bei einem kleinen Block meines “Dear Jane” ausprobiert – das hat nicht so gut geklappt, weil die Teile so klein waren. Aber in der Größe für die Kissenhülle, die 50×50 cm misst funktionierte es hervorragend und ist unbedingt wiederholungswürdig. Eine ausführliche Videobeschreibung gibt es von der Missouri Star Quilt Company – und zwar hier.

Wenn man auf ein Galeriebild klickt für die Großansicht, sieht man auch die deutschen Bildunterschriften 🙂

Linked with/verlinkt zu TGIFF & Let’s bee social & Finish it up Friday

32 comments

    1. Thank you Carla. First time I tried this technique with very small pieces I didn’t like the result – the shapes I expected to look the same were very different. I suppose with the bigger shapes it is the same – they are a bit different but it don’t catches your eyes in that size.

  1. The quilting is beautiful. Gorgeous pillow. Thank you for the wonderful tutorial. It makes me want to try applique 🙂

    -Soma

  2. Very pretty! I have used the fused applique technique you described with very good results. Love your cushion cover!

  3. Your quilting added such a perfect finishing touch!! I found myself really “studying” your quilting and doodled your design down. Thanks for the inspiration!!!!

  4. Hi Annett, thank you so much for the tutorial. Your cushion is gorgeous! I really love the accent quilting and the backing fabric is beautiful. What a clever way to do appliqué. That could work for me too. I’m hopeless at appliqué. Avis x

    1. Thank you Avis… try it, it is really easy if the orange peels aren’t too small … I can’t believe that you’re hopeless at appliqué – you can do it! 🙂

      1. I think it will work with a small zigzag stitch too – it is only to fix it and the orangepeels can’t fray because they were sewn together with the interfacing.

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you like it … ok I think my “instructions” are more a few hints… but in the MSQC video I linked in my post it is shown very detailed. I didn’t much appliqué either and didn’t find it too hard to do…

  5. I think I’ve used this appliqué method in the past and liked it but I don’t do too much appliqué now. I’m sure your friend was delighted with her cushion, it’s gorgeous.

    1. I like needleturnappliqué most. The cushion cover was my second machine appliqué trial. I loved how fast it was made. Thank you for visiting.

  6. Such a pretty pillow! Thank you for showing how you made it – it’s an easy method for curved applique shapes that I’ll have to remember for future reference.

  7. Beautiful cushion – I’m sure your friend will love it! Thanks for sharing your applique method. Applique is so intimidating for me, but your descriptions sounds totally doable! I’ll have to give it a try.

  8. I made a baby quilt, a runner and a small table topper with orange peels using this technique!!! Love how you made stitched orange peel petals through the others… Great idea! If you want to see my projects on IG check @winkowl

  9. Your pillow is beautiful. I love the quilting you have done. Thanks, also, for introducing the technique. I have a quilt with a similar pattern that I am struggling with piecing. Maybe I can adapt this technique to make it a bit easier!

    1. Thank you. If the pieces are not too small (here the orange peel pieces are 8″) it is an easy technique. I like how it turned out – ofcourse the blanket stitch is visible on the surface.

  10. Beautiful cushion, and really excellent quilting! I have a slightly different technique for making appliqué shapes which doesn’t involve interfacing, but instead, a cardboard template and a sheet of aluminium foil. My method doesn’t give you a way of fixing the shape in place, I use spray baste instead. I like your method too!

    1. Thank you Kate. The method was a pleasure to work with in this size (one orange peel is appr. 8″)… but it was very uncomfortable with the Dear Jane’s small 1.2″ shapes.

Leave a comment.

