Looking back on June…

Almost July!!! I was very lazy (with blogging)… so I not only have to look back on June but also on the end of May! In May I celebrated my birthday and as you can see I was blessed with fabrics and a special gift for the beginning of the F2F blockswap… a 12,5″ruler and a ruler grapper:

screen-shot-2015-03-02-at-7-13-18-amI used the ruler for my first blocks I made for the F2F block swap. The F2F – that means “Foot in a square Freestyle” – was an idea of Kate @talltalesfromchiconia and Sue @sewingmagpie. There are 12 participants – in every of the coming 12 months one of us is the “Queen of the month”. Everyone sew three blocks every month for the “Month-Queen”. The blocks have to be 12.5″, the design will be chosen by the one who sew it – the colour scheme is the choice of every participant. So during the coming year every participant will receive 33 blocks from the other participants and make 3 of her own. The first blocks I sewed for Esther from ipatchandquilt who was “Miss June”. fabrics and design board for Esther's blocksI loved Esther’s colour choice: coral, mustard, jadeite/minty bluish green on a white/cream or light grey background… It was really hard to decide… the last few month I was looking for block

designs, sketched lots of designs in my sketchbook, made a designbord…

At the end I made these 3 blocks:

If you want to see all the wonderful blocks Esther received visit Kate’s  F2F block swap gallery.

Now we have almost July… and Miss July is ME!!! So I am very excited and curious waiting what the others will sew & send to me. My colour scheme is orange/green/turquoise on a white background – like these Easter eggs … and the first block I sewed for myself. I always wanted to sew curves – now I tried and designed a kind of curved herringbone:

Beside the F2F blocks I entered the Amanda Jean’s SCRAPVORTEXQAL @crazymomquilts. I have a lot of scraps so I am glad to work them up.

I am a little bit behind now but it is real fun to see the blocks grow.

Last weekend I attended a longarm-quilting-workshop at my favourit local quiltshop… it was really fantastic! And the best thing is: now I am allowed to quilt my own quilts on the machine! Some participants wouldn’t repeat that experience – but for sure, I will!

So I see… I suppose I should write my blog posts more often… because there is more about May and June…

And I tried the tasty variation of the Cinnamon butter flower – you find the recipe here. The tasty variation is filled with red and green pesto and really delicious!

I tried the tasty variation of the cinnamon butter flower with red and green pesto  https://knettycraft.wordpress.com/2014/11/01/cinnamon-butter-flower-delicious-something-between-bread-cake/

I tried the tasty variation of the cinnamon butter flower with red and green pesto. If you would like to make it – here is the recipe:
https://knettycraft.wordpress.com/2014/11/01/cinnamon-butter-flower-delicious-something-between-bread-cake/

15 comments

  1. Hi Annett, you are so busy working on all these new project. The paper piecing blocks are gorgeous. Good luck with the longarm quilting – I wish I had a shop like this somewhere near!
    Even though I am late – happy birthday (nachträglich)!! Barbora

    1. Hello Barbora, I have seldom the feeling of busy working… it is most the feeling of too less time to do want I would like (beside my daily work). I was glad to discover the shop with the longarm just half an hour from me… but I need so much exercise… and it is not cheap to use the machine.

  2. A busy month!
    I love the blocks you made for June’s lucky lady.
    I am jealous you got to use a longarm machine – was it very tricky?
    How do you find the ruler grabber? Does it make life easier.
    Sorry for all the questions but I’m nosy!

    1. Thank you Lynn. Using (learning to handle) the long arm was…. interesting 🙂 It was more difficult I thought before. With my domestic machine all works easy and with smooth noises & moves. The longarm was more difficult to handle… it was extremely fast and in the first moments it was very difficult to sew straight or gently curved lines because of the speed and because of the “machine-shaking”… we were 5 women and for all of us it was the first time using a longarm… and we all made the same “mistake”: we tried to sew very small and filigree shapes instead of large bows or sth like that. I think the first quilt I will use the machine for is a kind of picnic quilt which I’ll put in our car… just to exercise 🙂
      I like the ruler grabber… I am specialized in moving my rulers at the wrong moment – with the ruler grabber it is much better for me…
      Thank you for the words about my blocks for Esther… oh yes, I have given me a lot of effort (I am normally more the one who is just eyeballing things…) – and I am really satisfied with the results. Looking forward to improve my accuracy skills with the next 30 blocks!

  3. You’ve had a busy month and have created some fun things. I like the premise of the block swap – it’s different than the usual ones. It will be fun to see what you receive!

  4. What a great review of your past month! Happy belated birthday, and I do love that block you’ve made for yourself for July! Thank you for the link to the F2F page, I’ve been getting a lot of visits there, and I think I have you and Esther to thank!

    1. I am a little lazy at the moment… but writing blog posts take much time I’ll better can use to make other things at the moment. I like herringbone and wonky/improved herringbone and wanted to try… as curves – so I got a curved wonky herringbone 🙂

  5. I enjoyed reading your catch-up post and seeing the blocks you made for Esther. I’m contemplating what blocks to make for you. I know I can’t do anything as complex as your curved herringbone, though! A very pretty block! I loved the ten years I owned a longarm and quilted for others. Now I’d like to have one and quilt for me! You’re lucky to have a shop that offers that.

    1. Thank you! I’ll welcome every block which is sent to me… the curved herringbone was just an spontaneous idea… and it was a kind of coincicence that it works 🙂 Wow you lucky one that you own a longarm… here it costs as much as a car and I am sure I will never own one. I am glad that I have that shop near by… but it costs much to use it (20 Euros an hour… an that is much it you include the time you need to get the quilt on the frame…).

Leave a comment.

