Patio Quilt for my Daughter finished

 

selected fabrics

fabrics we selected

Together we selected some fabrics for the Patio quiltpattern from happyzombie my daughter likes.

I was so happy with the red/white/black fabrics… especially that some Tim Holtz fabrics were among it. For the backside I baught a fabric from the Bye Bye Birdy collection by Windham fabrics.

I was a bit afraid quilting that big quilt on my sewing machine and decided very soon to connect the blocks with a sashing strip after quilting every single block (quilt as you go technique)… and so I did!

I basted every single block.

I basted every single block.

I chose the batting and the back a bit larger because of my sashing strip width – I decided to connect the blocks with a 1″ sashingstrip in between which is narrower as the 2″ strip between the blocks in the original pattern.

So I basted every block and quilted it with wavy lines using my walking foot – a pattern I meanwhile love… it is so easy to do but is so nice.

traps everywhere... seamripper needed

seamripper needed

I enjoyed the really relaxed quilting of the twelve 18″ blocks very much… no battle with basting a big quilt, no wrangling and pulling a big basted quilt under the sewing machine. But of course there were other traps waiting for me… by mistake I sewed in a small leather piece I always put under my sewing foot if the machine is switched off to protect the needle plate… here was help of the seamripper needed!

 

After quilting and trimming all the blocks I connected them with sashing strips – I have to say it was much easier than I had thought. In any case I will repeat that – I previously thought that it would be very fiddly, but it wasn’t.

I connected blocks to rows…

three blocks form a row

connected three blocks to a row

assemble the rows one after another

assemble the rows one after another

After all rows were finished, I have assembled them row for row…

Under the sashing strip the individual lining layers encounter each other edge to edge. They were fixed with the seams of the sashing – I suppose it is really sturdy enough but to be sure I added one wavy line on every sashing strip wich is at last connecting both batting parts with each other.

quilted sashing strip to connect both batting parts

quilted sashing strip to connect both batting parts

The last step then was adding the binding – I love handbinding because it is a slow journey around the whole quilt before giving it in other hands.
handbinding

handbinding

I took a lot of step by step pictures to explain the quilt as you go sashing method and will post it later… for now I end up with some photos of the finished quilt. Finishing size is 57″x76″ (140 x 190 cm) – a bit smaller than the original because of the narrower sashing strips.

DEUTSCH –>

Nicht nur der Juli ist vorbei, sondern auch mein Urlaub… wenigstens habe ich es geschafft, den Quilt für meine Tochter fertigzustellen… immerhin haben wir die Stoffe und das Muster im Oktober 2014 ausgesucht. Ich war etwas erschrocken, als sich rausstellte, dass der fertige Quilt ca. 150×210 cm groß werden soll und habe mich ernsthaft gefragt, wie ich das mit meiner Nähmaschine und dem kleinen Nähtisch wohl bewerkstelligen sollte. Letztlich habe ich das erste mal zum Zusammensetzen eines Quilts die “Quilt as you go” Technik benutzt – fertig gequiltete einzelne Blöcke, werden erst im letzten Schritt zusammengesetzt. Meine Befürchtung, dass das ein einziges Gefummel und Gewürge wird, hat sich nicht bestätigt – ganz im Gegenteil. Das war absolut entspannt machbar. Ich finde, das Ergebnis (nun etwas kleiner durch die schmaleren Verbindungsstreifen – ca. 140 x 190 cm) spricht dafür.

17 comments

  1. Oh, this quilt is truly gorgeous! What a treasure. I love the red and white and all of the stitch work. I know so little about sewing and so I appreciate all the more the work of those who are skilled 🙂

  2. Your daughter is a lucky girl! The quilt is very nice!!! I like QAYG too, it is fun sewing and quilting the blocks one by one. I use 2 different sizes of bias makers – one for the back and a wider one for the front. Looking forward to read your tutorial.

    1. Thank you Barbora. It is the first time my daughter loves “something handmade”. I really enjoyed the QAYG method – it was so much easier to handle than a huge quilt.

  3. This is lovely. I would love to see your tutorial as I don’t like forcing a quilt through my machine either and might actually quite enjoy the quilting part if I can do it in small pieces. I suppose you had to feed it through the machine to quilt the sashing pieces though didn’t you?

    1. Thank you Lynn. I still hesitate with the tutorial… make all the photos was easy… but write a description of each step is really a challenge for my English… Of course you have to feed it through the machine to sew the sashing strips on. It is not necessary to quilt the sashing pieces – without quilting it it looks like a quilt binding. I quilted it because it was matching so good with the wavy line quilting on the blocks – and it was a way to connect the batting pieces with each other to stabilize it.

    1. Thank you Emmely… yes, I always enjoy that very slow last step before finish a quilt… it is a kind of a nice farewell to a piece which has has accompanied me a while.

  4. Wow, I really like the way it turned out. Great fabrics, and a wonderful conclusion. You did well with that QAYG method!

  5. Wonderful quilt Annett, your daughter must be very pleased with it. Like you, I always thought a QAYG would be too fiddly, but you make it look very easy. I’ll be interested to see your step by step tutorial.

  6. Your daughter must be so happy! You’ve done beautiful work here, and the close-up of the binding shows you really do love stitching by hand – the stitches are invisible! It’s my favourite part too… I have the same idea of quilting as you go for the one I’m making now – who needs to spend hours pushing and pulling a big quilt through a small space? I think you were right to do the wavy line through the sashing strips, not because it needed to be stronger, but because otherwise the sashing strip would stand out and look puffy by comparison with the quilting.

    1. Thank you Kate. My daughter loves it! Many years she said “Oh, something handmade, how embarassing.”… until I finished the first quilt. Then she said: “When you’ll make a quilt for me?”. Ok… I thaught nothing is lost. 🙂
      It was so surprising to me how easy the sashing was to make… I thing I will repeat that whenever a pattern will allow a sashing (like F2F blocks 🙂 ). And it is just invented for a bookcase quilt I would say.

Leave a comment.

