Rag Quilt – update

Sewing a rag quilt part II (for part I see here): I really managed to sew all pieces together yesterday afternoon. The biggest challenge is waiting for me now: clipping every single seam allowance – every seam allowance has to be clipped one snip beside another with 1/4″ spacing. After I had started with my normal scissors yesterday evening, I noticed that it doesn’t work without a special tool (Thank you Kate for your concern about my hands!) … so I ordered a special rag quilter snip to protect my fingers! Because my order have to travel from the US it will probably take until the end of september until I have it…

So here is what it is looking so far – 11 blocks/15 rows – the whole quilt measures now 62 x 84″ (155 x 210 cm).

Do you see my mistake-block… accidentally I have used it in the wrong direction but decided  to leave it that way. So there is one denim block on the front and a multicoloured on the back side… happy accident!

Linked with Linky Tuesday and Building Blocks Tuesday.

DEUTSCH –> Gestern habe ich es wirklich geschafft, alle Reihen zu einem großen Quilt zusammen zu fügen. Der Quilt ist jetzt ca. 155 x 210 cm groß. Leider musste ich aber feststellen, dass die größte Herausforderung noch auf mich wartet: das Einschneiden der Nahtzugaben. Im Abstand von ca. 0,75 cm muss jede Nahtzugabe eingeschnitten werden… wie ich gestern gemerkt habe, ist das mit einer normalen Schere kaum zu machen. Ich habe mir zwar eine Spezialschere bestellt, da sie allerdings aus Amerika geliefert wird, kann das noch ein paar Wochen dauern…

So sieht der Quilt jetzt aus:

Ein “Fehler” ist mir passiert… ich habe einen Block falsch herum eingenäht, letztlich aber Gefallen daran gefunden und es so gelassen… Auf der Vorderseite ist jetzt also ein einziger Jeansblock zu sehen – auf der Rückseite entsprechend ein buntes Baumwollquadrat…

5 comments

  1. I never saw those snips before. Thanks for the link. I’ve been wanting to make a rag quilt since I saw your first post.

  2. Oh, I’m glad you’re buying those snips, and your hands will thank you now and in later years. I think the ‘mistake block’ adds a lot of charm and personality to the quilt. As my mother used to say: Perfectie is voor de Lieve Heer

Leave a comment.

