Snoopy Cushion Cover – pictural tutorial

Today evenening it occurred to me that I had to sew a fast Snoopy cushion cover… I didn’t finish it yet but I managed to sew the front part in less than three hours. There was enough time for some pics I’ll share here:

I made it in a size of 18″ – Snoopy is appr. 6″ – if you search the web for “Snoopy” you’ll find enough picures. You only have to print a Snoopy in the desired size, the doghouse roof and landscape can be drawn freehand.

sketched the basic lines on the sticky side of a thin interfacing

sketched the basic lines on the sticky side of a thin interfacing

 

fabric for the middle plank, right side up

fabric for the middle plank, right side up – it must cover the middle field

 

on top of the first fabric is placed the fabrid vor the upper plank - right side on right side

on top of the first fabric is placed the fabrid vor the upper plank – right side on right side… fixed with a needle

 

the interfacing - the first seam is the line between the middle plank and the plank above.

Like foundation piecing you sew on the interfacing – the first seam is the line between the middle plank and the plank above.

the seems have to be trimmed to 1/4"

the seems have to be trimmed to 1/4″

the interfacing is folded back so it can stay undamaged

The interfacing is folded back so it can stay undamaged. The quarter inch line covers the seam.

trimmed seam allowance

trimmed seam allowance

 

After the seam is trimmed you can fold up the fabric for the upper plank and add the fabric for the lower plank in the same way (mark your seam line as showed in the picture with finger pressing).

After the seam is trimmed you can fold up the fabric for the upper plank and add the fabric for the lower plank in the same way (mark your seam line as showed in the picture with finger pressing).

The fabric for the lower plank is added.

The fabric for the lower plank is added.

Now the shape of the roof must be trimmed.

Now the shape of the roof must be trimmed.

 

Fold the interfacing back on a thin ruler wich is placed exactly on the line.

Fold the interfacing back on a thin ruler wich is placed exactly on the line.

I used my "add a quarter ruler" to trimm my 1/4" seamallowance.

I used my “add a quarter ruler” to trimm my 1/4″ seamallowance.

First step is done... that is the roof. Next is to add the landscape beside the roof.

First step is done… that is the roof. Next is to add the landscape beside the roof.

I prepared the landscape out of green and blue fabric (for meadow and sky). The fabrics were connected with curved line piecing.

I prepared the landscape out of green and blue fabric (for meadow and sky). The fabrics were connected with curved line piecing.

I cut my landscape strip in two pieces - for both sides of the doghouse roof. Your landscape strip has to be as wide as the roofs hight is.

I cut my landscape strip in two pieces – for both sides of the doghouse roof. Your landscape strip has to be as wide as the roofs hight is.

Roof and Landscape are joined - they have to be trimmed now: use the lower and upper roof line as guide.

Roof and Landscape are joined – they have to be trimmed now: use the lower and upper roof line as guide.

Add now a large sky-piece.

Add now a large sky-piece.

The ear is sewn from black fabric - two pieces right side on ride side sewn together. I left an opening on one of the long sides and turned right side out. I closed the opening with an small edgestitch around the ear-piece. The ear is only fixed on the upper part and hangs down losely over the roof.

The ear is sewn from black fabric – two pieces right side on ride side sewn together. I left an opening on one of the long sides and turned right side out. I closed the opening with an small edgestitch around the ear-piece. The ear is only fixed on the upper part and hangs down losely over the roof.

The nose... a black oval wich is zigzagged with black yarn - the white gloss strip is zigzagged too. Lower part of the nose and upper part of the ear will be later covered with the head.

The nose… a black oval wich is zigzagged with black yarn – the white gloss strip is zigzagged too.
Lower part of the nose and upper part of the ear will be later covered with the head.

The nose... a black oval wich is zigzagged with black yarn - the white gloss strip is zigzagged too. Lower part of the nose and upper part of the ear will be later covered with the head.

The body silhouette is marked on the sticky side of the thin interfacing. It is ironed on a piece of white fabric and cut out afterwards.

After the silhouette shape had been cutting out it is machine appliqued with a black zigzag stitch.

After the silhouette shape had been cutting out it is machine appliqued with a black zigzag stitch.

Add black zigzag lines for the eye, the arm, a line between body and head and fingers/toes.

Add black zigzag lines for the eye, the arm, a line between body and head and fingers/toes.

Zigzag the outline of the doghouse roof and the lines between the planks. Done!!!!

Zigzag the outline of the doghouse roof and the lines between the planks. Done!!!!

I plan to add a blue back side and a zipper at the bottom … hope to get it done tomorrow.

Linked with Crazy Mom Quilts finishitupfriday linky party and with the TGIFF-party this week over at whatahootquilts .

 

29 comments

  1. Endlich mal etwas auf Deinem Blog, bei dem ich nicht mit zitternden Knien denke: “Wie KANN man nur solche Geduld haben?”, sondern: “Das könnte ich mir auch vorstellen! Saucooler Snoopy, genau in der Pose, in die ich mich gerade auch am liebsten begeben würde.

    Leicht verschlafene Grüße
    Maike

    1. Ich mach, glaub ich, eher gern fummelige Sachen, weil ich dabei den Kopf so richtig freibekomme. Aber der Snoopy musste sein; nachdem ich eine entsprechende schwarz-weiß Postkarte gesehen hatte, konnte ich nicht anders.

  2. Annett, that is adorable! Thanks for showing how you did it. It probably took you more time to make the tutorial than to sew the block, so I really appreciate it!

  3. What a great cushion that’s going to be. I love your first sentence and couldn’t help wondering in what circumstances it would occur to you that you needed to sew a fast Snoopy cushion cover 😉

    1. I thought I would have no time for sewing these days. Then I drawed a small Snoopy to make an appliqué pattern and suddenly I realized that the background was perfect to sew as foundation paperpiecing or quilt as you go and that Snoopy “was only a white piece with black lines. And so I started.

  4. Hi Annett! This is super! We all love snoopy and you had a great idea to make a beautiful pillow with him! x Teje

    1. It is for my best friend who is a great Peanuts & Snoopy lover! The ruler it very lovely, isn’t it? It was a giveaway I got with my monthly fat quarter abo from my favourite (German) quilt shop… it is a fabric motif of Tula Pink “Elizabeth”. I just noticed I doubled a photo in my post and changed that … I posted very late last night (appr. 1.30 am) – and had a working meeting today morning at 9.00 – sometimes I ask myself who am I in real!

  5. That is way too cute!!! I love it…What is the thing in the one picture that looks like a stuffed block? Is that your pin cushion? Very pretty too it is. I haven’t tried applique yet but you are inspiring me to believe I can actually do it too! Ty ….as always for your wonderful information!
    Carry

    1. Thank you Carry! What you described as a stuffed block is a pincushion – you can find it in an earlier post about it here: https://knettycraft.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/scrap-box-challenge-at-grannymaudsgirl/
      I hope to start with the Postcrossing quilt soon – I just sketched some appliqué patterns and know what my first block for it will be: On my first block I want to applique the little Postcrossing mascots, the Playmobil postman. But first I have to sort all the fabricpieces I got.

Leave a comment.

